1. There's more to this forum than meets the eye!

    We have a vibrant community here conversing about all sorts of non-snow topics such as music, sport, politics and technology. Simply register to reveal all our Apr├Ęs topics or continue browsing and reading as a guest.

    NOTE: This notice may be closed.

    Dismiss Notice

Ben Lomond Snowsports - webcam

Discussion in 'Ben Lomond' started by tom11, Jun 4, 2012.

  1. tom11

    tom11 First Runs

    Joined:
    May 23, 2006
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    New webcam for this year, still testing. Will be going full time when the snow comes [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
    #1 tom11, Jun 4, 2012
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 12, 2013
  2. xecute

    xecute Hard Yards

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Good work!
     
  3. Ian D

    Ian D Pool Room Staff Member Administrator Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 1995
    Messages:
    45,695
    Likes Received:
    6,556
    #3 Ian D, Jun 4, 2012
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 15, 2013
  4. Jonwah

    Jonwah Hard Yards

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nice job ducky!
     
  5. BenLomond Iceman

    BenLomond Iceman One of Us

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2000
    Messages:
    3,207
    Likes Received:
    94
    like your work tom!
     
  6. BenLomondBezzer

    BenLomondBezzer Hard Yards

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2003
    Messages:
    523
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks all,

    Ian, keep an eye on where the cam is pointed as you might want to change the name? I don't know for sure but I presume it will get angled up the hill a bit more during the season.

    Tom is this cam in addition to the one Flea was using up there last year?

    BLB
     
  7. tom11

    tom11 First Runs

    Joined:
    May 23, 2006
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes this is another snow sports cam. the other will come back online mid june ish.

    I told ian want to call the view, counldnt think what else to call it.

    Also the temp is just the cam temperature not the actual temperature outside.
     
  8. BenLomondBezzer

    BenLomondBezzer Hard Yards

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2003
    Messages:
    523
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi Tom,

    That's great news. will the second cam be running independently like this one? or still dependant on when the computer is plugged in and the power on?
     
  9. tom11

    tom11 First Runs

    Joined:
    May 23, 2006
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    The other cam will only run when the power is on, this one
    SHOULD run all the time, hopefully.
     
  10. BenLomondBezzer

    BenLomondBezzer Hard Yards

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2003
    Messages:
    523
    Likes Received:
    1
    Nice,

    If that's the case, I nearly think that we should swap the two so that if the village view is down then we have the slopes there all the time.

    Alternate, it would be cool to have from say the ticket office through to village as the more reliable one and then the toboggan slope/homerun cam for the intermittent cam?

    [​IMG]

    Just a thought?
     
    #10 BenLomondBezzer, Jun 5, 2012
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 12, 2013
  11. tom11

    tom11 First Runs

    Joined:
    May 23, 2006
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    Not possible as it's the only spot we can get reception, unless someone wants to donate an Android phone that I can plug an external antenna into.
     
  12. BenLomondBezzer

    BenLomondBezzer Hard Yards

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2003
    Messages:
    523
    Likes Received:
    1
    Sweet,

    Could get a couple of those soon. Dad and I are about to upgrade our HTC's?

    Who does the set up work? does it use the camera of the phone or the phone as a transmitter only?

    I also have an Nokia N95 which you might be able to use?
     
  13. tom11

    tom11 First Runs

    Joined:
    May 23, 2006
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    Take 2, ironing out the bugs, main problem is 3G reception.

    HOPEFULLY, this will keep you all happy, and they work as long as there is power on.

    Cheers

    Cam 1
    [​IMG]

    Cam 2
    [​IMG]
     
    #13 tom11, Jul 5, 2012
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 12, 2013
  14. Mr_Yagi

    Mr_Yagi First Runs

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Tom what sort of aerial if any do you have up there for reception
     
  15. tom11

    tom11 First Runs

    Joined:
    May 23, 2006
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    G'day mate,

    Got a telstra 4G modem thingy, the little black one, have an older square white plastic external antenna, it only covers the 850, 900 and 1900 MHz bands seems to work ok, I think it was somewhere around -93dba strenght.
     
  16. Mr_Yagi

    Mr_Yagi First Runs

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you can adjust at aerial at all closer you can get to -100dBa the better but you probably new that will see what I can do to help
     
  17. Mr_Yagi

    Mr_Yagi First Runs

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    About 1.6 degrees from true north mate should get you best signal