1. There's more to this forum than meets the eye!

We have a vibrant community here conversing about all sorts of non-snow topics such as music, sport, politics and technology. Simply register to reveal all our Après topics or continue browsing and reading as a guest.

NOTE: This notice may be closed.

Dismiss Notice

Question Best edge angles for PB skis

Discussion in 'Backcountry' started by axellotta, Jun 16, 2020.

1. axellotta

axellotta Hard Yards

Hi all, got a quick question that I'd like your opinions on please.

I picked up a set of Madshus Epochs yesterday that I want to prep for the EPIC season that will be upon us shortly (truly coming folks, truly. I can feel it in my arthritic toe or something like that).

That is, to set or not to set edge angles different than the 90 degrees from the factory for back-country use. I have a Beast 1 degree base angle tool and a Swix 88 degree side angle tool that I have used on my resort skis, and before I start merrily filing my edges on the Epochs I'd be interested in what other people are thinking.

The Epoch has a negative pattern so I would be able to get a consistent base angle the full length of the edge without pattern interference or damage. That said, I could transition from 0 degree base angle along the pattern to a 1 degree angle at the tip and tail which would give relief in these areas whilst keeping a super sharp edge beside the boot (for edging on boilerplate, especially with the 88 degree edge angle).

Or would you all leave well enough alone and leave both the base and edge angles as they are, save for de-tuning the tips and tails with the gummy-stone?

Cheers in advance!

Mister Tee on XC Skis likes this.
  2. Chaeron

Chaeron A Local Ski Pass: Gold

3. Fozzie Bear

Fozzie Bear One of Us Ski Pass: Gold