Best family holiday in Japan

Discussion in 'Japan' started by Jess10, Sep 13, 2017.

1. Jess10

Jess10 First Runs

Hi I am a tad overwhelmed by all the options in Japan. Would love any great experiences ie specific resorts and accomodation for a family of 4. Kids will be 8 and 10 next year and are complete beginners. Hubby and I are experienced snowboarders (but haven't been to the snow for a few years!) We would love a cultural experience too :)

Ramenman likes this.
  2. skifree

skifree Part of the Furniture
    Moderator Ski Pass - Gold

3. Crispy013

Crispy013 One of Us

4. Born2ski

Born2ski Part of the Furniture

So you'll need a place with English ski school for the kids at a minimum. The question is how comfortable are you and the kids with Japanese culture ? Do you need a place with a lot of spoken English, western food options and western style apartments or are you ready to dive straight in to Japan ? Those choices will narrow your options.

Jess10 likes this.
  5. MarkGC

MarkGC One of Youse
    Ski Pass - Gold

English speaking ski school seems like it would be the go for the kiddies. I had a good experience in Myoko with Myoko Snowsports, the group lessons were essentially privates most days. Hakuba, Niseko and many others will also have similar english speaking ski schools.

If you have only skied or boarded in Oz, you make take a little backstep in japan if you get great conditions (like the 3 metres in 3 days we had in 2012), trying to teach kids in different conditions would be a challenge.

Jess10 likes this.
  6. skichanger

skichanger A Local
    Ski Pass - Gold

Yeah it can be a bit overwhelming.And you will be told to ask more specific questions or give more info. Problem is that starting out you do not know what to ask or what is important info to provide. Some initial things to think about that will narrow down your choices: