1. SPECIAL NOTE TO NEW REGISTRATIONS

If you recently registered and have not received a confirmation email - please check your 'Spam or Junk' folders. Especially if your email is Hotmail. More help with confirmation issues

NOTE: This notice may be closed.

Dismiss Notice
  2. There's more to this forum than meets the eye!

We have a vibrant community here conversing about all sorts of non-snow topics such as music, sport, politics and technology. Simply register to reveal all our Après topics or continue browsing and reading as a guest.

NOTE: This notice may be closed.

Dismiss Notice

Blue Cow $99 8:30AM Private Lesson (2 hour) - what's the catch?

Discussion in 'Perisher' started by Pete Holden, Aug 18, 2019.

1. Pete Holden

Pete Holden Early Days

Why is this so much cheaper than a 9:00AM 3 hour lesson, which is around $500. Is there a catch? Or disadvantages?

It says in the Perisher website that the lesson is for beginners. So as a beginner, I can take 2 x $99 lesson on two consecutive days for a total of 4 hours/$198, vs $500 for a 3 hour 1 day lesson?

Is there an advantage (or disadvantage) to that extra hour on the first day?

2. CarveMan

CarveMan Pool Room Ski Pass: Gold

Not uncommon for resorts and ski schools to incentivise beginner lessons.

When I was instructing there was research done to show that it took 3 days for someone to really ‘get’ skiing and fall in love with it, but the dropoff after day 1 was massive, so getting people to get over that hump is beneficial to hopefully create a lifelong skier.

3. Pete Holden

Pete Holden Early Days

Ok that makes sense.

So I already bought the 3 hour $500 lesson x 3 days weeks ago and this new price $99 2 hour price is obviously a bummer for me. I could have bought 8 hours for 4 days for $396 vs $1500 for 9 hours over three days.