Bluff View Webcam

Discussion in 'Mt Buller' started by NjB, Apr 20, 2018.

  1. NjB

    NjB Hard Yards

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Messages:
    257
    Likes Received:
    71
    snowflake65 likes this.
  2. Echo Base

    Echo Base First Runs

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2017
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    13
    Is that the ice machine starting already?
     
    MickM likes this.
  3. CarveMan

    CarveMan Pool Room
    Ski Pass - Gold

    Joined:
    May 12, 2000
    Messages:
    69,429
    Likes Received:
    27,607
    Looks like a new one. Well spotted.
     
  4. Edgecrusher

    Edgecrusher Pool Room
    Ski Pass - Gold

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2013
    Messages:
    51,733
    Likes Received:
    25,519
    snowflake65 likes this.
  5. skichanger

    skichanger A Local
    Ski Pass - Gold

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2012
    Messages:
    5,477
    Likes Received:
    2,061
    mmm so we are looking at putting webcam on Chalet Madarao. The comments above have led me to wonder how high tech do we need to go. Thoughts? Suggestions?
     
  6. snowflake65

    snowflake65 First Runs

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2018
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    4
    Wow, that's brilliant
     
    Edgecrusher likes this.
  7. Timmossy

    Timmossy Hard Yards

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    226
    Likes Received:
    134
    It's mounted to the Blue Bullet top station, I noticed it there a few days ago.
     
  8. LiveToSki

    LiveToSki One of Us
    Ski Pass - Silver

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2001
    Messages:
    1,350
    Likes Received:
    116
    So will this camera make its way onto the Ski.com.au list? Maybe they will face it towards the Bluff when there is actually snow and they dont need to advertise the fact that their slushy machine is working?
     
    Edgecrusher likes this.
  9. Edgecrusher

    Edgecrusher Pool Room
    Ski Pass - Gold

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2013
    Messages:
    51,733
    Likes Received:
    25,519
    Other side of the mountain range, this one is even better:
    https://courmayeur-youla.panomax.com/
    (sorry, off topic I know)

    I reckon a good sweep of The Bluff over to Howitt, Crosscut Saw, etc from Buller would be a great cam though. IMO Buller has the best views of the Vic resorts. A great panocam like the above would be amazing up there. Hotham have this one:
    https://mthotham.roundshot.com/
     
    CarveMan likes this.
  10. Richard

    Richard Maintenance Dept
    Administrator

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 1995
    Messages:
    10,552
    Likes Received:
    5,696
    HD static cam at minimum. Recommend Axis or Sony if you want it to last and have decent software. But there are plenty of other cheaper options.

    Streaming is nice to have but not essential. The only way to do streaming is how Thredbo are doing it by using YouTube as your delivery platform - but running a streaming cam uses a lot of upload bandwidth especially if it is HD so you will need a solid Internet plan with plenty of data. A static cam uses less than 1/50th of the installation bandwidth requirements of streaming cam even if you set it to update every 30 seconds or 1 minute.

    Just don't skimp and not get HD - everyone has a high pixel resolution mobile device and the standard definition cams look like garbage now.
     
    currawong likes this.
  11. skichanger

    skichanger A Local
    Ski Pass - Gold

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2012
    Messages:
    5,477
    Likes Received:
    2,061
    Awesome! Thanks! Will have to suss out the upload bandwidth. But it is Japan with fibre optic all the way to the modem.
     
  12. Richard

    Richard Maintenance Dept
    Administrator

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 1995
    Messages:
    10,552
    Likes Received:
    5,696
    bingo bango
     
  13. skichanger

    skichanger A Local
    Ski Pass - Gold

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2012
    Messages:
    5,477
    Likes Received:
    2,061
    I am not sure what that means. But I think it is positive.:thumbs:

    Would you put it up with the other webcams?

    Ok so I am not on top of the current state of th NBN here in Aus, but when I think about what a non-issue getting both my places connected when there was no internet at all, why wouldn't every new install in Aus be fibre to property from where ever they are laying new cables from? One was overhead and one is underground*. But neither were any more work than the cables to my place in Sydney when I built it. In fact way less work

    * underground in this case meant a bit of conduit laid on the ground with a bit of dirt kicked over it. Now covered in about 4 inches of rotted vegetation.
     
  14. Richard

    Richard Maintenance Dept
    Administrator

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 1995
    Messages:
    10,552
    Likes Received:
    5,696
  15. Richard

    Richard Maintenance Dept
    Administrator

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 1995
    Messages:
    10,552
    Likes Received:
    5,696
    correct

    yes


    yeah... nup

    Read the NBN thread. It's been a cluster..
     
    skichanger likes this.