1. There's more to this forum than meets the eye!

We have a vibrant community here conversing about all sorts of non-snow topics such as music, sport, politics and technology. Simply register to reveal all our Apr├Ęs topics or continue browsing and reading as a guest.

NOTE: This notice may be closed.

Dismiss Notice

Resource Buying Ski/Snowboard gear in Tokyo Season 2019/2020

Discussion in 'Equipment' started by Sandy, Oct 2, 2019.

1. Sandy

Sandy Dark Sith Lord of the Pool Room Moderator Ski Pass: Gold

Hot May, cool and wet July, hot August, hot September, a direct hit from a strong typhoon on Tokyo, a warm start to October, but cooling a bit next week..... and This means it's time for the annual thread Buying Ski/Snowboard gear in Tokyo for Season 2019/2020. I guess I've been doing this for about 10 years now....

I went to the Tokyo ski shop area last weekend, about 4 weeks earlier than I did last year.
    Some shops have changed over their gear, and moved their snow gear down to the ground floor.

The AUD has been sitting stable for a few months, but worse than last year at about 73 yen/AUD, so the gear in Japan is again more expensive than compared to last year.
    Added to this, the 8% GST has jumped to 10% on October 1st.... I guess it doesn't make all that much difference, when compared to the worse exchange rate

London Sports outlet is still the cheapest place in the whole area.
    Two years ago, the old store lease was up, and they moved two doors down in to the tiny location, but they opened a new store just down the lane, in the basement (see map). I bought a couple of pairs of skis for friends there last January. The tiny main street store has brand name sports shoes and clothes, and some snow wear upstairs, along with helmets.