1. There's more to this forum than meets the eye!

We have a vibrant community here conversing about all sorts of non-snow topics such as music, sport, politics and technology. Simply register to reveal all our Apr├Ęs topics.

NOTE: This notice may be closed.

Dismiss Notice

Canada work visa

Discussion in 'Canada' started by looseygoosey, Nov 3, 2011.

1. looseygoosey

looseygoosey First Runs

Other half and I are considering moving to Vancouver or Calgary. Goal is for a change of climate for a year or 2 with the obvious benefit of being close to the resorts!

Anyone know of visa options once your too old for the working holiday (we are just over the 31 threshold)? Has anyone been successful applying for a highly skilled migrant visa in Canada? I am a qualified accountant.

Any tips appreciated. Tips on securing a role in accg + finance also appreciated!

2. main street

main street Doing what I want. Ski Pass: Gold

Josh.

Have you looked at the Canadian Immigration web site ?

3. Crystal

Crystal Sand skier extraordinaire Moderator Ski Pass: Gold

If you want to go for that long probably best to get permanent residency I would think. Your +1 would also need to qualify also and reach the number of points you need. It's all on the website and then get an immigration lawyer...that's what we did and 'almost' made the move but bub came along as a surprise.

4. sly_karma

sly_karma Old n' Crusty Ski Pass: Gold

I took the hard way... married a Canadian. 17 years and counting!

5. Crystal

heheheheeee....

6. main street

7. main street

I'll be doing mine from in country.

With the work permit I have, I can wait for 12 months & apply for residency while still here. It's a much faster process as I'll already have demonstrated ties to the country & be set up.

Getting the permit in the first place was the tough part...... Corporate sponsorship was needed for that & even then it was a rocky road....

8. dawooduck

dawooduck relaxed and comfortable Ski Pass: Gold