1. There's more to this forum than meets the eye!

We have a vibrant community here conversing about all sorts of non-snow topics such as music, sport, politics and technology. Simply register to reveal all our Après topics or continue browsing and reading as a guest.

NOTE: This notice may be closed.

Dismiss Notice

Cruiser area - a bit hard for beginners?

Discussion in 'Thredbo' started by slidylegs, Jul 25, 2019.

1. slidylegs

slidylegs First Runs

I'm a beginner and have skied only a couple of times before. I went up the Merritts chairlift this time and found it to be a bit hard for beginners. Can someone tell me how the green runs in the Cruiser area - Walkabout and Squatters Run compare to the green or blue runs in other resorts overseas?

2. crackson

crackson A Local Ski Pass: Gold

Same.

Another day or two and you will love it. The first week is incredibly hard, then it rapidly gets easier.

Confidence is the key.

3. ShavedBadger

ShavedBadger One of Us

This.

Also, try going back and forth across the slope, don't worry too much about going straight down the hill and it will be far less daunting.

4. chrisj

chrisj One of Us Ski Pass: Gold

Have you tried Giddy Up? You access it from the top of Friday Flat, on the magic carpet through the transparent tunnel. It's kinda between Friday Flat and the green Cruiser runs for difficulty.

5. slidylegs

slidylegs First Runs

Yes, did many laps through the Giddy Up and Friday Flats. Was able to do nice parallel turns at the end of my Day 3. So, went up to Merritts on Day 4 and freaked out a bit. You start leaning backwards when you are scared and that makes you fall over. I was able to ski down but was snowploughing most of the time.

crackson likes this.
  6. gareth_oau

gareth_oau Pool Room Ski Pass: Gold

Stop horsing around @chrisj

skull likes this.
  7. Donzah

Donzah Old n' Crusty Ski Pass: Gold

I think the amount of people going fast at Merritts is also a contributing factor to nerves...