Diana lodge - getting to the ski school

raspberry

Hard Yards
Jul 8, 2015
Melbourne
Hi all, I was looking at the accommodation at FC next August (2 adults + 2 kids), and by the look of it, there are only a couple of options available, one of which is Diana Lodge. My concern is that it will be tricky getting from there to the ski school, especially for our youngest who is a total beginner.

Previously we've stayed at Attunga (really liked it, seems booked out for August) and Summit Ridge (it's nice and the owners are lovely but the Mezzanine wasn't quite comfortable for 4 people). Getting to the ski school was fine from Summit Ridge and OK from Attunga.

A somewhat rhetorical question - is everything else really booked out already or is it possible that some owners haven't opened all the bookings yet?

currawong

Old but not so Crusty
Ski Pass
Sep 17, 2003
Kiewa Valley
Are you sure they are booked out? It could be that they have not listed all their rooms on booking sites. I'd call attunga rather than believe a booking site.

You should also call Falls Creek Central Reservations and see what vacancies they are aware of.

Did you use the shuttle to get from Summit Ridge to Halleys Comet or slide down the road? If you can all slide down then you should be able to get to the main rd from dianna and get the road shuttle to Halleys.

Other lodges that come to mind that are no harder than attunga to get to ski school include Pretty Valley and Nelse. PV has an excellent reputation for families. There lots of apartments close to the shuttle route too.

raspberry

Hard Yards
Jul 8, 2015
Melbourne
Thanks a lot @currawong. We just walked/slid from Summit Ridge to Halley's Comet, it would take a while with the little one but was all downhill so was OK. Back on a shuttle. I don't know the area where Diana is, I thought you'd have to go uphill from there to get to Halley's Comet. It's good if you can get to the shuttle.