driving from Sydney to Thredbo

chantin13

First Runs
Jun 11, 2021
Hi everyone,
I hope everyone is having a good day.
I would like to ask if driving from Sydney to Thredbo, any part of that route will be above the snowline?
I called and asked Thredbo, they said no determinedly, but when I called the Resort we are staying in, which located in Jindabyne, they said from the resort to Thredbo must pass through the snowline. However, Jindabyne is a waypoint from the route Sydney to Thredbo, so it got me confused now.
I googled and understand that Jindabyne is considered above the snowline. I would like to know if there is a way to connect all three places staying below the snowline all the time, as I will be renting a car.
Hope some people with experience can provide me some information, this is my first time planning a skiing trip.
Best Wishes
Sam

Skichic2

Part of the Furniture
Ski Pass
Feb 22, 2017
I would ask your hire car company for their definition. Chains are not legally required for any part of the drive from Sydney to Thredbo. However they are sometimes required (this week for example)

skull

One of Us
Ski Pass
Jun 4, 2017
jindy is below the natural snowline, so is thredbo. The only issue you have is if there has been a solid dump and snow is lower than usual.

Reactions: asammut_au

Legs Akimbo

Grumblebum
Ski Pass
Jan 17, 2014
Coastal suburban boonies.
Thredbo is correct. Apart from freak occurrences, such as we are having now, there is usually no snow between Sydney and Jindabyne. As you get towards Thredbo you get higher, but snow does not happen very often. Thredbo Village and the bases of the lifts are below the natural snowline.

You should check with your car rental company. They may have restrictions on entry into the National Park that are not connected to reality. That may be what your Jindabyne accommodation is talking about.

chantin13

First Runs
Jun 11, 2021
Thanks for all the reply,
I have sorted it out with the car rental company. Thank you