Earthquakes

Discussion in 'General & World' started by Duckweather, Jul 9, 2019.

1. Duckweather

Duckweather Early Days

Hi folks.
    This thread has been set up to accommodate conversations, info, ideas and observations of earthquakes worldwide, as well as those local to Australia.

Thankyou Richard for offering a new place for myself, other old WZ'ers and all others to share our interest in this topic, and it's sometimes associated other events, such as volcanic activity and tsunamis. 3.28 million views on WZ/EQ's was/is a wonderful response to our natterings there.

I am no scientist and just an amateur observer of quakes, their precursors, events and some of their consequences. So my input is in a conversational style and observations stem from general intuition and suspicions as to where quakes/tremors may occur. I always [noted on WZ] say that what I natter about is to be taken with a pinch of salt, as I may be wrong with my observations. But I am sure that we can learn much from each other and enjoy the sharing of thoughts, feelings, ideas and info on earth movements, daily and/or weekly.

Thankyou for welcoming me and all the other WZ'ers to your wonderful community on ski with such kindness and warmth. It is hugely appreciated.
    Cheers, Duck.

SMSkier, Tanuki, crackson and 8 others like this.
  2. Eddy

Eddy Hard Yards

I look forward to your analysis/reports Duck. Ive always enjoyed reading the EQ thread on WZ.

Duckweather likes this.
  3. Sandy

Sandy Dark Sith Lord of the Pool Room Moderator Ski Pass: Gold

I was going to post something about the quakes in California, but was waiting until we resolved where we might put them, with the Weather forum reorg.
    The M6.4 quake on the 4th of July at Ridgecrest was the largest in California for almost 20 years.
    There was some debate as to whether it was the main quake or a pre-quake.
    That was answered on the 6th of July, when a M7.1 hit 17km from Ridgecrest.