1. SPECIAL NOTE TO NEW REGISTRATIONS

If you recently registered and have not received a confirmation email - please check your 'Spam or Junk' folders. Especially if your email is Hotmail. More help with confirmation issues

NOTE: This notice may be closed.

Dismiss Notice
  2. There's more to this forum than meets the eye!

We have a vibrant community here conversing about all sorts of non-snow topics such as music, sport, politics and technology. Simply register to reveal all our Après topics or continue browsing and reading as a guest.

NOTE: This notice may be closed.

Dismiss Notice

Family of 5 absolute beginners

Discussion in 'New Zealand' started by Andy Parker, Apr 4, 2019.

1. Andy Parker

Andy Parker First Runs

Heading to Wanaka and Queenstown for 10 days in July. Mum, Dad and boys age 7, 14 and 15. Where do we start? Looking at taking ski lessons but not sure if beter to buy a package which includes lessons, gear hire and x days on the snow or buy the QT multiple day pass and pay for lessons, gear seperately? Any suggestions on where to start. We have never been on ski's but are fit from bike riding, running (marathon).

Chaeron likes this.
  2. DPS Driver

DPS Driver One of Us

Depends where you start.

Wanaka - If all beginners go to Cardrona, as it's perfect for getting started.

Queenstown - Cornet Peak is probably the easiest from an access perspective. Better to keep it easy for the first timers. The less hassle the more enjoyable.

Buy a package. That's what they're made for.

qwill, piolet and Chaeron like this.
  3. melty68

melty68 One of Us

If you have never been on skiis before...its not as easy at it looks. Unless your about 10 years old.

Kimski and Chaeron like this.
  4. LMB

LMB Old but definitely not Crusty! Ski Pass: Gold

LOL
    Ain’t that the truth for most physical pursuits.

Definitely get lessons.
    Whether as part of a package or separately, they’ll make the difference in enjoyment for you.

Chaeron and currawong like this.