1. SPECIAL NOTE TO NEW REGISTRATIONS

If you recently registered and have not received a confirmation email - please check your 'Spam or Junk' folders. Especially if your email is Hotmail. More help with confirmation issues

NOTE: This notice may be closed.

Dismiss Notice
  2. There's more to this forum than meets the eye!

We have a vibrant community here conversing about all sorts of non-snow topics such as music, sport, politics and technology. Simply register to reveal all our Après topics or continue browsing and reading as a guest.

NOTE: This notice may be closed.

Dismiss Notice

Advice needed First time I've worked on pre-season fitness

Discussion in 'Snow Talk' started by sly_karma, Aug 19, 2019.

1. sly_karma

sly_karma Old n' Crusty Ski Pass: Gold

I've been skiing for 35 years but never done any kind of pre-season fitness program. As a young adult I was working in the industry full time; it only took a few days and I was up to speed for 90-100 day season. Then I went into the building industry; hard work kept me pretty fit and a strong skill set enabled me to be efficient in my movements. But the years have passed along and I'm not as active at work as I was. I gradually exchanged hammer and shovel for plans and computer. The body kept ageing and I put on a couple of kilos each year to make matters worse. In short, my skiing sucked the last couple of years. I've been asking my legs to hold back far too much weight in each turn so my early season 'get the legs into shape' days have stretched to weeks. Last year I never really did get into good enough condition to ski more than 3-4 top to bottom runs in one shot.