Advice needed First Time Japan Snow Trip (Nozawa Onsen and Hakuba Valley)

numberonetreaty

Early Days
Jan 13, 2020
Hi All,

I'm brand new to Ski Forums and looking for a little advice on a trip I have planned to Japan. I've put a few details of my trip below and wondering if I could get some opinions/recommendations.

Trip Details:
- First time going to Japan.
- I arrive and leave from Tokyo.
- Dates: 29 January 2020 to 27 February 2020. Looking to spend the first 2.5-3 weeks snowboarding and then the remaining time site seeing/travelling.
- No proficiency with the Japanese language.
- I have my own gear (park and powder boards).

My plan is hit both Nozawa Onsen and Hakuba Valley for 8ish days each, doing Nozawa first and then Hakuba before starting the site seeing part of my trip. I'm planning on getting the bullet train to Nozawa from Tokyo, then shuttle bus from Nozawa to Hakuba (https://www.skihakuba.com/nozawa-hakuba-shuttle.htm), and bullet train from Hakuba back to Tokyo before starting site seeing.

The first trip on the bullet train I plan to pay for by itself and then will get a week pass for my site seeing (this may not be the best way as I have no idea on how the different areas for the JR pass work). To be honest I haven't given the site seeing part of my trip much thought yet, but so far I'm thinking of checking out Tokyo, Kyoto and Hiroshima.

So hopefully the above provides enough info to answer the following questions and for some opinions/recommendations:
- Should I do Nozawa before Hakuba or the other way around? For any reason like; powder, ease of finding my way around, etc.
- Should I get day ski passes or should I opt for a season pass? (Haven't been able to determine if there is one that covers both resorts for instance?)
- Does the JR pass cover all of Japan? I believe it does but I wanted to make sure (https://www.japan-rail-pass.com.au/jr-pass)
- Does anyone have any recommendations on where I should go on my site seeing endeavours?