1. There's more to this forum than meets the eye!

We have a vibrant community here conversing about all sorts of non-snow topics such as music, sport, politics and technology. Simply register to reveal all our Apr├Ęs topics or continue browsing and reading as a guest.

NOTE: This notice may be closed.

Dismiss Notice

First trip to Hotham...questions, questions!

Discussion in 'Hotham & Dinner Plain' started by tomtankman, Apr 18, 2018.

1. tomtankman

tomtankman Addicted

Hi all

Im busting my balls with excitement. Have just booked my 1st ever trip to Hotham after boarding Thredbo/Perisher for 20 years! Ok so Im studying the trial map and am wondering if you can board from The Orchard top to bottom of Blue ribbon....basically from top right to bottom left of the map. Also are the Playground trail, Gully Catwalk and Davenport Access too flat for boarders?

Other questions:
    1) Is there mobile/internet reception in Dinner Plain.
    2) Can you drop hire chains at Dinner Plain? I will hire in Bright or Harrietville on the way up but then will not need the car until it's time to leave 5 days later.
    3) Does Dinner Plain have a store which sells meat.....for a BBQ?
    4) Does Dinner Plain hotel have a bottle shop?

Thanks everyone!!!

2. Echo Base

Echo Base Hard Yards

Playground Trail, Gully Catwalk and Davenport Access are fine for boarders. The trail from the top of Orchard to the top of Spargo's has a bit of a flat bit that needs fast snow, wax and technique for a boarder to avoid some walking. The trail from the bottom of the Village chair to the bottom of Blue Ribbon is even more flat. I've only bothered once, and I'm a skier. (my boarder friend that I dragged down there was not impressed)

3. FatBoyDave

FatBoyDave One of Us Ski Pass: Silver

Wondering if you can board from The Orchard top to bottom of Blue ribbon....basically from top right to bottom left of the map.