Fixing Mt Buller Car Access Issues

Discussion in 'Mt Buller' started by benzerknees, Jul 15, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. benzerknees

benzerknees Hard Yards

Thought I would start a separate topic on this issue:

Djam says in the Trip Reports, Pics & Conditions, “There is plenty that can be done here to improve the situation for all issues, part of which I've been working on for 6 years, and about to work on it full time. It will address the parking, mountain access, both summer for bikes, winter for skiers and tourists visiting for other activities. It also covers village transport and more snow play areas.

Here is my not so futuristic plan if I was in charge:

• • A Gondala does get built from Mirimbah. It is quick and takes only 15 minutes. It finishes in the “wasteland” above home trail, next to the old village T- bar. Sightseers can walk to Bourke st, tobogganing etc. Skiers can ski to Shakey, or down home trail or go to Bourke st. Eventually another access lift could be built from here to near the top of Fox.
    • • Parking at Mirimbah is limited so land near Merrijg is purchased for extra parking. Autonomous electric busses (the supercapacitor type that charge quickly) run around continuously (like the long term airport carpark). However they are smart and use a app that makes for the most efficient pickup time, and bypass non attended stops. They deliver you to the gondala at Mirimbah within 15 minutes on average.
    • Solar, wind generation and storage are built at the merrijig parking site to power the infrastructure. Shares in the generation company are sold to punters like me, so I get a dividend and the company gets finance.
    • Overnight stayers are mainly parked in the horse hill car park as no day trippers are allowed up the mountain. The Northside lift, has extra gondolas that are put on the line instead of chairs during peak overnighter demand and it runs into the night and very late on Friday night.