1. There's more to this forum than meets the eye!

We have a vibrant community here conversing about all sorts of non-snow topics such as music, sport, politics and technology. Simply register to reveal all our Après topics.

NOTE: This notice may be closed.

Dismiss Notice

Question Food Dehydrator - recipes.

Discussion in 'Backcountry' started by DPS Driver, Aug 10, 2020.

1. DPS Driver

DPS Driver A Local

Hi all, I'm new to the food dehydrator world, well let me rephrase that, the "do it yourself' food dehydrating.

My son wanted to get into it and so we are now the proud owners of a Sunbeam dehydrator. We did some fruit on the weekend to break it in but that's about it.

I know we've got a bunch of seasoned dehydrators here, so thought I'd ask for some tips recipes for some of your best work. ie cuts of meat which are best for jerky, marinades, rubs, best veggie recipes etc.

Please feel free to share. Thanks in advance.

2. Xplora

Xplora One of Us Ski Pass: Silver

Kangaroo and venison make great jerky. Low fat is the key. Fats go rancid. Broc, cauli and carrot rehydrate well and so does onion. Kiwi fruit, pineapple, strawberry and banana are great also. We do curries and laksa but tend to do them without added veges. Put the veges in afterward. You can also buy dehydrated coconut milk to add later when cooking at camp. Shepherds pie with Deb topping and usual spag bol. We do find mince meat comes back quicker and not so chewy and we blend up the dried mince to make it smoother. Chunky meat can dry on the outside and the inside can still be moist. You should buy a vacuum sealer also. This will keep things good for so much longer. Pumpkin soup is another favourite but it needs a blend also as it comes out like a fruit rollup.

3. buckwheat

buckwheat One of Us