Bug Report Forum Displaying Instagram Posts

Discussion in 'Support & Feedback' started by POW_hungry, Sep 14, 2018.

Tags:
  1. POW_hungry

    POW_hungry Part of the Furniture Moderator Ski Pass: Gold

    Joined:
    May 28, 2000
    Messages:
    17,932
    Likes Received:
    21,719
    Location:
    Eastern Burbs of Sydney
    So this what I see on both desktop and mobile using Chrome:


    Seems like a Xenforo bug? Does anyone else get this when viewing Instagram embeds?
     
  2. William Moran

    William Moran Hard Yards

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2018
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    6
    Yep, on mobile using safari.
     
    POW_hungry likes this.
  3. CarveMan

    CarveMan Pool Room Ski Pass: Gold

    Joined:
    May 12, 2000
    Messages:
    75,989
    Likes Received:
    40,473
    Location:
    Les Hautes Montagnes
    Ditto
     
  4. azzski

    azzski Should know better Moderator Ski Pass: Gold

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 1999
    Messages:
    40,899
    Likes Received:
    18,572
    Location:
    St Kilda, Australia
    Happening occasionally using Chrome (mobile or desktop) for me too. It happens with Twitter too, not just Instagram.

    Often a refresh will fix the issue.
     
    POW_hungry likes this.
  5. POW_hungry

    POW_hungry Part of the Furniture Moderator Ski Pass: Gold

    Joined:
    May 28, 2000
    Messages:
    17,932
    Likes Received:
    21,719
    Location:
    Eastern Burbs of Sydney
    This is F’n annoying... still happening
     
    Claude Cat likes this.
  6. Donzah

    Donzah Old n' Crusty Ski Pass: Gold

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2017
    Messages:
    30,719
    Likes Received:
    26,158
    Location:
    woonona
  7. Donzah

    Donzah Old n' Crusty Ski Pass: Gold

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2017
    Messages:
    30,719
    Likes Received:
    26,158
    Location:
    woonona
    Droid chrome
     
  8. POW_hungry

    POW_hungry Part of the Furniture Moderator Ski Pass: Gold

    Joined:
    May 28, 2000
    Messages:
    17,932
    Likes Received:
    21,719
    Location:
    Eastern Burbs of Sydney
    Can’t all be perfect!
     
  9. Chaeron

    Chaeron One of Us Ski Pass: Gold

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2014
    Messages:
    3,810
    Likes Received:
    5,323
    Location:
    Glen Iris, Melbourne
    Same with Chrome on iPad
     
  10. kylep

    kylep Cage rattler Ski Pass: Gold

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2012
    Messages:
    3,299
    Likes Received:
    4,398
    Location:
    Sydney
    Been meaning to post. Same issue on Chrome across ios/osx/win. Occasionally they show in full, but mostly the bottom half or thereabouts is cutoff
     
  11. Richard

    Richard Maintenance Dept Administrator

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 1995
    Messages:
    12,592
    Likes Received:
    10,473
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Back from my family travels and can now attend to this.

    So...

    In the Insta test thread.. can anyone else confirm that the problem behaviour seems to only be with insta's posted at the top of the thread and insta's further down the page that require scrolling to will load correctly?

    And if the page is fully refreshed then all the insta's load properly ?

    Anyone else note similar nuance of behavior?
     
  12. Donzah

    Donzah Old n' Crusty Ski Pass: Gold

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2017
    Messages:
    30,719
    Likes Received:
    26,158
    Location:
    woonona
    This is occurring to me again.
    @Richard
    Droid chrome
     
  13. kylep

    kylep Cage rattler Ski Pass: Gold

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2012
    Messages:
    3,299
    Likes Received:
    4,398
    Location:
    Sydney
    Yeah, has continued to be a problem for me. Have to refresh the page when it happens, then it usually resolves
     
  14. Richard

    Richard Maintenance Dept Administrator

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 1995
    Messages:
    12,592
    Likes Received:
    10,473
    Location:
    Newcastle
    There’s yet another update from the add-on creator, I’ll have to install it. Away atm. End of week.
     
  15. POW_hungry

    POW_hungry Part of the Furniture Moderator Ski Pass: Gold

    Joined:
    May 28, 2000
    Messages:
    17,932
    Likes Received:
    21,719
    Location:
    Eastern Burbs of Sydney
    So the broken Instagram posts are broken, and more broken than they were before.
    Not only do they still half post (the instagram host format posts half dimension), but now it views as below:
     
  16. Dr_S

    Dr_S Hard Yards

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010
    Messages:
    667
    Likes Received:
    95
    Location:
    Mt Eliza, Vic
    I'm not able to view insta or Twitter images - just comes up with the Twitter or insta logo. Using chrome on Google Pixel 3. Anyone else finding this?
     
    Arsas likes this.
  17. Richard

    Richard Maintenance Dept Administrator

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 1995
    Messages:
    12,592
    Likes Received:
    10,473
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Latest chrome release for desktop has increased privacy and blocks more 3rd party ad-tech. It's possible that has now rolled out to Pixel - so would be interested in hearing if more Pixel users have same issue.

    Check to see if privacy settings can return it.
     
  18. Gimped

    Gimped One of Us Ski Pass: Silver

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2011
    Messages:
    752
    Likes Received:
    445
    Using chrome...can't see them either
     
  19. Arsas

    Arsas One of Us

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2017
    Messages:
    562
    Likes Received:
    888
    Same for me. Twitter posts just come up as a twitter logo. With insta it is a bit random.
    In the current Obs thread Post #152 (snowmaker) I can see the Insta post (a video), but further down the page post #159 (jellybeans) all I see is an insta logo.
     
  20. Richard

    Richard Maintenance Dept Administrator

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 1995
    Messages:
    12,592
    Likes Received:
    10,473
    Location:
    Newcastle
    phone or desktop?
     
  21. Richard

    Richard Maintenance Dept Administrator

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 1995
    Messages:
    12,592
    Likes Received:
    10,473
    Location:
    Newcastle
    try keeping the insta logo in view for a little while and report back. Also - are you on a Pixel?
     
  22. Gimped

    Gimped One of Us Ski Pass: Silver

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2011
    Messages:
    752
    Likes Received:
    445
    desktop
     
  23. Arsas

    Arsas One of Us

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2017
    Messages:
    562
    Likes Received:
    888
    on a PC using Chrome. Makes no difference keeping the logo in view. More new post In the same Obs thread #174 (powhungry) all I see is a twitter logo, #185 (Telestrom) all i see is 4 x Insta Logo, but #197 (snowmaker) I see the Insta video
     
  24. Arsas

    Arsas One of Us

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2017
    Messages:
    562
    Likes Received:
    888
    @Richard just check using my phone (android internet app) and I cant see any Insta or twitter posts just logos. Logged in using Chrome app and still cant see any Insta or twitter posts.
     
  25. Gimped

    Gimped One of Us Ski Pass: Silver

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2011
    Messages:
    752
    Likes Received:
    445
    I can see them now!
     
  26. Undies

    Undies Pizza! Ski Pass: Gold

    Joined:
    May 15, 2002
    Messages:
    19,543
    Likes Received:
    11,382
    Location:
    Top drawer
    Same same.

    Windows 8 + chrome on a PC.
     
  27. azzski

    azzski Should know better Moderator Ski Pass: Gold

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 1999
    Messages:
    40,899
    Likes Received:
    18,572
    Location:
    St Kilda, Australia
    On Chrome Desktop I've been seeing this problem sporadically. Twitter and Insta just giving the logo one day, then the same posts working fine the next day, which throws some water on the privacy idea. Have not noticed this issue on mobile Chrome.

    I'd written this off as an issue with our proxy server at work (which is sketchy) but after reading this, it may be more.
     
  28. Boutros

    Boutros One of Us

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2012
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    783
    Location:
    Jindabyne
    I've been getting the same issue on desktop with Chrome but once the page is loaded I find hitting the refresh normally loads the link and gets rid of the logo.
     
    Dr_S likes this.
  29. Dr_S

    Dr_S Hard Yards

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010
    Messages:
    667
    Likes Received:
    95
    Location:
    Mt Eliza, Vic
    @Richard this workaround works for me (pixel 3 on chrome)
     
  30. Richard

    Richard Maintenance Dept Administrator

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 1995
    Messages:
    12,592
    Likes Received:
    10,473
    Location:
    Newcastle
    ok ta,

    that's a clue. Suspect it's the lazyload then.

    I've done another update of the plugin at midday plus some custom hacks so the helper file loads from ski instead of github.io but does not appear to have made a difference.

    I'm going to leave it there as the update to XF 2 is only a week away.
     
    Dr_S likes this.