Advice needed Free Camping and Commute advice

Brandonaway

First Runs
May 5, 2021
Hello!

I'm new to this forum and to skiing in Australia and have a bunch of questions! I've only skied while living in Japan and NZ, so am completely new to how things work here.

I have a campervan that I built over covid that i've been using for climbing trips and want to start taking it to the snow this season. I'm a broke uni student from syd and barely have enough for the pass and fuel, let alone accommodation.
I'm wondering if it is possible to free camp somewhere in the area in a self contained campervan?

I'm also wondering what the most economical option is with getting to the resort? Is it best to drive there directly or buy the skitube ticket that can be added on with the Epic pass? I'd be going down every other weekend with my brother so between the two of us we're not sure if it would be worth paying $280 for our skitube tickets when the national parks entry is only $190 and lasts a whole year. Having said that, I've never driven on snow/ice before, let alone in a campervan, so was wondering how difficult it is/ would be with a larger, rear wheel car.

Sage O

Like the herb, cup ramen devotee
Ski Pass
Sep 8, 2017
Origami Hutte/Newy
Hello!

I'm new to this forum and to skiing in Australia and have a bunch of questions! I've only skied while living in Japan and NZ, so am completely new to how things work here.

I have a campervan that I built over covid that i've been using for climbing trips and want to start taking it to the snow this season. I'm a broke uni student from syd and barely have enough for the pass and fuel, let alone accommodation.
I'm wondering if it is possible to free camp somewhere in the area in a self contained campervan?