1. There's more to this forum than meets the eye!

We have a vibrant community here conversing about all sorts of non-snow topics such as music, sport, politics and technology. Simply register to reveal all our Après topics.

NOTE: This notice may be closed.

Dismiss Notice

Hotham Lodge recs please

Discussion in 'Hotham & Dinner Plain' started by SharpShard, Apr 6, 2021.

1. SharpShard

SharpShard Hard Yards

Hi. I haven’t stayed in a lodge since the early 90’s. What’s a nice lodge in Hotham for myself and my 16 year old daughter? Thanks.

2. cqen2l

cqen2l Part of the Furniture Ski Pass: Gold

3. Any

Any One of Us Ski Pass: Silver

Do you know Hotham?

I think your preference and style will greatly depend on what you're looking for.
    Most people I've met would recommend staying at a few and get a feel for the membership and environment before investing in a lodge.

I'm new to Hotham. my first time last year. spent the whole of last season there (in lockdown, hiking to ski, etc). So I don't know whos cool or uncool. I also dont know the internal political bs that go on at every ski resort, nor do I give a f to find out.

I'm a member of the lodge ski club.
    It's a little bit lower class lodge than other luxury lodges. Ok rooms but shared bathrooms and showers might be a detractor for some. The living room and kitchen are adjacent making cooking and eating more a social event. I feel it has a slightly older membership, but very active members that all ski religiously. So much so that, based on this year's early bookings, you might have troubles booking the weekends you want. Actually the general felling I get is that this is true for all lodges and accommodation up here. The lodge is also completely booked out for 2 weeks during school holidays by a few schools.
    Afaik there are unused memberships in the pool available from the committee, about $5k a pop I think.