Hotham or Falls Creek for beginner snowboarder

Sweefu

Hard Yards
Ski Pass
May 22, 2019
Hi Team,

Apolgies in advance for the snowboard related nature of this thread. I'm a beginner-intermediate skier and I've convinced my partner to get back on the snow after a bad fall/concussion learning to ski a few years ago.

She's going to try snowboarding instead this time in a hope the movement is more familiar with a background in wakeboarding.

We have accommodation booked in Bright (unfortunately bound by school holiday dates) and I was planning to book her pass and lessons at Hotham because it's closer to our accommodation and we haven't been to Hotham before.

However, looking at the trail map there are only 4 short green runs and majority difficult terrain, compared to Falls with a lot more beginner/intermediate terrain.

Should we book Falls instead or will Hotham still be ok for a first time snowboarder? I'm concerned the beginner runs at Hotham will quickly become a nightmare given how few and short they are. Or will Hotham be ok, perhaps most beginners head to Falls instead for the same reason?

Cheers!

nezumi

One of Us
Ski Pass
May 28, 2009
Melbourne
I haven't been to Hotham yet, but I have been to Falls. The beginner runs there are great, with a good increase in difficulty to allow for progression.

Reactions: Sweefu

Pisteoff

Hard Yards
Jun 26, 2016
Hotham has some good beginner runs but very few lower intermediate runs. Falls has good beginner runs and a lot of lower intermediate runs. Any beginner skier we have taken to the snow, has preferred Falls.

Onlybackscratchers

One of Us
Ski Pass
May 7, 2017
For all of Falls advantages especially in the lower intermediate category, I personally think Hotham's summit area is the best beginner strip in Victoria. Early risers can get a spot in the Coral carpark nearby which can be rather convenient for first timers as well.