INFO ON BAW BAW

funnyonion

First Runs
Aug 16, 2007
Hi guys (Managed to sort out the ol snow chains) for the hire car (see previous post few days ago).

Just wondering if anyone wants to give me their 2 cents worth on baw baw.

Were coming from WA but only for a quick 4 night break and chose Baw Baw for the travelling distance and my other 3 amigos are all totally beginners. I have noticed a lot of people saying that the runs are really short, not many options etc. and just want to reasure myself that i havnt made the wrong decision (based on going the extra mile and going to mount buller).

- What is the mountain really like? - for total beginners are they going to get bored or is there enough to keep them occupied on the slopes? (what is the longest run if the manage to progress from falling on their [auto-censor] all day?

- Do the slopes get really busy with the limited lifts etc?

- Staying in a lodge and I know there is no big grocery or anything but is there enough to go make some brekkie in the mornings? or am i better off grabbing everything in melbourne when we arrive

- And lastly, (and more importantly for 2 of my party) whats the nightlife like (alpine bar etc) ?

Any info will be appreciated (arriving 29th August), i tend not to take notice on what the travel agent says cause they would talk-up a pile of poo if they thought they could sell it to ya.

Thanks for you help

HiLo

Old n' Crusty
Mar 26, 2001
Yarra Valley
- Fine for one day for beginners.

- Unlikely to be too busy mid-week

- Breakfast supplies are available

- A few licenced premises available, Pub, Village Central, Kellys

Book your friends in for a lesson. It will help.

Charlie

Still the most depraved poster here
Jun 27, 2002
Gippsland
Definitely buy your supplies in Melbourne>
Supplies on mountain are limited and exxy!
Otherwise,........wot HiLo said!

snOWFAlls

First Runs
Jun 4, 2007
melbourne
if you're just beginners, baw baw should be fine.
bring up lots of food.