1. There's more to this forum than meets the eye!

We have a vibrant community here conversing about all sorts of non-snow topics such as music, sport, politics and technology. Simply register to reveal all our Après topics or continue browsing and reading as a guest.

NOTE: This notice may be closed.

Dismiss Notice

Learning to use an avy beacon

Discussion in 'Snow Talk' started by Cat_Herder, Nov 8, 2019.

1. Cat_Herder

Cat_Herder Hard Yards

Heading to Japan in Feb and got myself an avy beacon on the off chance I do a bit of side/backcountry, and also just for a bit of extra inbound safety. The problem is I've never used one before, and figure there's no point taking it if I can't even use it...

What's the best way to get comfortable using it during summer? Just getting someone to hide it in some long grass and treat it the same as if it were buried under the snow?

2. hatto

hatto One of Us Ski Pass: Gold

Do you have a mate with one also.
    Stick one in plastic bag and bury at beach, then search for it

3. Telemark Phat

Telemark Phat Pass the butter Ski Pass: Gold

Learn how to not get caught in an avalanche in the first place, or get a guide.

25% of victims in the US a killed by trauma before the avalanche stops, then 70% of burials are dead within 30 min. To find and dig out a partner that quickly requires a lot of skill and practice searching, probing and digging. Unless you're good at all three your beacon is essentially a corpse finder, not a safety device. Learn to not end up in a slide in the first place.

#3 Telemark Phat, Nov 8, 2019
    Last edited: Nov 9, 2019
    Hully, skifree, nfip and 5 others like this.
  4. Donzah

Donzah Old n' Crusty Ski Pass: Gold

Go Pro + Beacon = increased human factors ....

5. Fozzie Bear

Fozzie Bear One of Us Ski Pass: Gold

Buy a copy of the bible and read it cover to cover many times.

nfip, Chaeron, LMB and 3 others like this.
  6. ralphplough

ralphplough Addicted