1. There's more to this forum than meets the eye!

We have a vibrant community here conversing about all sorts of non-snow topics such as music, sport, politics and technology. Simply register to reveal all our Après topics.

NOTE: This notice may be closed.

Dismiss Notice

Advice needed New driving to thredbo help

Discussion in 'Thredbo' started by Swan Valkyrie, Mar 1, 2021.

1. Swan Valkyrie

Swan Valkyrie Early Days

Hi All,

It will be the first time going to thredbo hopefully this winter. I was initially going to stay in Jindy and get a bus shuttle from there to thredbo. But now i’m considering driving but worried about driving conditions.

I’ve been googling up for a few months based on methods and general conditions but I was hoping to get further answers.

I’ve got a Subaru Impreza RS 2010. Its an AWD, manual. I don’t like driving up hills normally because of stopping and rolling back slightly so I try and avoid. I’m also not confident driving in snow/icy roads (never done it)

- Would it be better to hire an Auto? if yes, do you need to use the gears option going down the hill if it’s icy?
    - I’m aware snow chains need to be carried but not normally required. I’m afraid that even after being shown by someone at servo I won’t be able to put them on properly. What is the risk ratio of needing chains to thredbo in late July?
    - Do you need chains to Jindy?
    - Is it easier to stay in Jindy and catch a shuttle or is it super expensive?
    - Im driving with 2 others but only I have the manual license, only other car is 2WD thats auto and would need chains... should we just take this or hire? Again worried if snowy conditions would need to slow down using gears right on icy hill? (We have never used gears on auto but ive seen its possible?)
    - was hoping to stay somewhere in thredbo for ski in ski out and not have to worry about catching shuttle each day, but thats not deal breaker if shuttles were cheap