On Snow Accommodation

SkiAl

First Runs
Jun 13, 2008
QLD
My family has a deep desire to spend a week on the snow at Perisher this year. This is our 4th season skiing, and we have never stayed on snow so we are willing to spend the extra dollars to simply ski in and ski out. Needless to say I was wondering if anybody had any 'favourite' places or places which they would never go. Also wondering how soon this type of accommodation gets booked out.

Unfortunately, the week we go is the first week of July. As I am a teacher I am bounded by school holidays. I would love to go later and not in a busy week, but hey its still skiing - and I cant wait.

Thanks

cold wombat

Twitter Contributer
Jun 4, 2008
Perth
I'm partial to North Perisher but that may not be so good that early in the season. There are several commercial lodges up that way that do oversnow transport into the main valley on a regular basis so you're not so reliant on having the North P lifts working. Not sure which ones to recommend though, as I've always stayed at a private lodge. If you're serious long term, you may want to think about investing in membership in a lodge if possible. It can be pricey (and you probably can't be sure of getting the dates you want) but it will give you much cheaper on snow accommodation. Just something to think about.

wangster

A Local
Oct 24, 2008
1st week of July traditionally books out very fast. I assume despite the economic downturn that this will still be the case.

Are you looking for lodge, hotel, self contained?

Lodge wise I've been in Snowgums and The Lodge at Smiggins and I can recommend them both. The food and service at The Lodge is excellent. When I was a kid my family used to stay at Peer Gynt in North Perisher and it was a great place to stay - but you're taking the risk as to whether the Interceptor or North P t-bar will open in the first week of July.