1. There's more to this forum than meets the eye!

We have a vibrant community here conversing about all sorts of non-snow topics such as music, sport, politics and technology. Simply register to reveal all our Après topics or continue browsing and reading as a guest.

NOTE: This notice may be closed.

Dismiss Notice

Advice needed Skiing over Uni Break - Accomodation, Season Pass

Discussion in 'Snow Talk' started by Stan90, Jun 12, 2020.

1. Stan90

Stan90 Early Days

Hi! :)
    I'm new here, but have been a passionate student of skiing for a few years now and have a few weeks at Thredbo + two seasons in Korea under my belt.

I'm a Sydney based student looking into the possibility of going skiing for the entirety of my Uni break from ~21st June - ~26th July.

Accommodation:
    My
    accommodation budget would be about ~$500 a week, and I have a front wheel drive hatchback (+ tire chains) I could use to get around.

Considering the 4+ week length of my intended stay, I'd need somewhere to sleep, shower, do laundry and cook - Hotels / Motels / Lodges would hence appear to be impractical and unaffordable.

Would looking for something like a studio / flatshare in Jindabyne be my best option (...or even possible)?

Season Pass / Resort:

My first choice was Thredbo, owing to familiarity, vertical drop and run length, but;
    1. They're not offering Season Passes.
    2. The crowds / lift lines I experienced there last winter were unbearable at times. (Anybody there during the polar vortex, when they shut down the Kosciusko Exp.... then Gunbarrel... probably knows what I'm talking about :confused:)

If my priorities are to;
    1. Maximize time spent going downhill on groomers
    2. Minimize time on lifts / in lift lines
    3. At a reasonable cost
    Would an Epic Pass (Perisher / Hotham / Falls Creek) be a good second choice?

Any advice would be much appreciated.
    Thanks! :)

2. Rick Ross Da Boss

Rick Ross Da Boss One of Us Ski Pass: Silver