1. There's more to this forum than meets the eye!

We have a vibrant community here conversing about all sorts of non-snow topics such as music, sport, politics and technology. Simply register to reveal all our Après topics or continue browsing and reading as a guest.

NOTE: This notice may be closed.

Dismiss Notice

Tassie tent platforms

Discussion in 'Backcountry' started by PK Sawd, May 25, 2010.

1. PK Sawd

PK Sawd Part of the Furniture Ski Pass: Gold

Hi all. I'm heading into the Walls of Jerusalem at the end of June and have a question about tent platforms. They apparently have them at Wild Dog Creek, just outside Herod's Gate. I have never used them before and wanted to ask about how one fixes a tent to them and what I ought to take for the purpose. Do they have adjustable hooks to put tent loops over or do you just lash it down yourself with rope/string/cord?

I will fondly remember nights over in the Jaffa vale, camped among the Pencil Pines but I can see the merit in the new camping arrangements.

Thanks in advance of any useful replies.

2. Bogong

Bogong Part of the Furniture Ski Pass: Gold

The platforms are a bit like the slatted decks many people have outside their back door. They usually have rings and cords attached to them, but if they don't, it's easy to tie tent guy ropes to them. They are very easy to use with a dome tent, but if you plan to use a tunnel tent it should be fine, but you will need to position it carefully.

One thing you will notice is that, even with a good sleeping mat, they are harder than sleeping on the dirt.

Here is a picture of the platform at the former High Moor track maintenance Hut in the Western Arthurs.

[​IMG]

(Yes that is my crappy Kathmandu tent and yes, I know I shouldn't have taken cheapo stuff like that to western Tassie. It leaked badly and has been demoted to summer camping only. I replaced it with an utterly bomb-proof MacPac Plateau dome-tunnel hybrid.)

#2 Bogong, May 25, 2010