Advice needed Touring Dirtbag bound for Canada

Discussion in 'Canada' started by Team Weasel, Sep 13, 2018.

1. Team Weasel

Team Weasel Addicted

I’m planning on hitting up Canada for the first time this winter, and here’s my plan:

- fly into Vancouver late December
    - buy van, become a dirtbag and spend most of winter at Revelstoke and surrounds (I’m buying a season pass this month)
    - complete level 1 and 2 ski instructor courses when possible
    - hang around as long as possible to ski into spring
    - possibly head to US for a while too (Utah, Colorado are on the list, PNW maybe too)

Questions:

Work: I’m too old for the working visa thing…and looking at my budget, I foresee the need to work at some point in the trip. If I get Level 2, can I reasonably expect a sponsored visa position? Are there other options in terms of work in Canada? I’m a teacher by trade if that helps. Or is the US a better option for work?

Car: Anything weird in terms of buying a car/van in terms of rego and insurance? Chains or snow tires needed? Providing I have a visa, is heading to Alaska or down to the lower 48 an issue?

Skis: I’ll be heading over with Blizzard ZG108s, which I rate highly. I’m happy to buy over there, and was thinking of grabbing something a bit wider for deeper days. What sort of dimensions are folks over there on for big mountain style ski touring? (Looking at skis like Rustler 11, Kore 117, Anima FB)

Any other advice is welcome! Cheers.

2. crackson

crackson A Local
    Ski Pass - Gold

No. You suck. Other than the instructor training, i'm very jealous.

Team Weasel, Slowpony and Dave6 like this.
  3. Crystal

Crystal Sand skier extraordinaire
    Moderator Ski Pass - Gold

Team Weasel likes this.
  4. climberman

climberman CloudRide1000 Legend
    Ski Pass - Gold

I came here to say pretty much exactly this LOL

Team Weasel and crackson like this.
  5. mr

mr Part of the Furniture
    Ski Pass - Gold