Question Traveling to New Zealand for the First time

Junncha

First Runs
May 18, 2014
This will be my first time visiting New Zealand, well first time traveling at all!
Hi guys, I'm from Australia and my plan this winter (July) is to go to New Zealand to travel around the south island and ski at Queenstown. I am traveling with 1 friend.

Since it is my first time in New Zealand and first time travelling i am very scared that i will get lost or something will go wrong, i am a careful person but I still worry haha.

For days now i have been trying to sort out flights and accommodation and have decided to hire a Campervan or some sort and
Arrive in Christchurch and drive to Queenstown. We are only here for 2 weeks :( and would like to get the most out of this experience.

Here is a little plan i have made for now:

Possible trip routes:

Day 1: Christchurch--- Mt Hutt---Mt Cook
Day 2: Mt Cook--- Lake Tekapo--- Twizel--- Wanaka
Day 3: Wanaka--- Queenstown

Day 4- 9 (5 days) Ski at Queenstown deal

Day 10-13: Drive back to Christchurch?

is this route any good?

If anyone has any suggestions about where we should go, what we should do, where we should stay, any good deals, it would be great help from a New Zealander or someone who has done a trip like this before!
I am so excited about going to NZ.

Balsta

One of Us
Ski Pass
Sep 11, 2012
New Zealand is easy as, so don't stress it. I've done the South Island twice in a camper van and both were in Winter. Worst part of hiring a van is the huge hold they like to place on you CC, some charge up to $10k. You can reduce this by paying the excess reduction but that is such a rip off. I have always used travel insurance with inbuilt excess reduction.

If skiing is your main goal then your route is ok, although you could ski a day or two at Mt Hutt and also out of Wanaka. Like Australia ski conditions can vary and some seasons July (especially early) can be ordinary. Depending on your ski ability Club fields are worth a look.