Where can i snow camp next wknd? gwinear is finished

joshd

First Runs
Aug 7, 2014
Hi everyone, i am new to the snow and i just discovered mt st gwinear this year, i snowshoe and camp out ,i hang a hammock and tarp setup that allows me to stay almost anywhere that trees are. sadly gwinear has barely any snow left and by the time i can get away next (2 oct) i doubt any snow will be there, there must be somewhere else like gwinear i can explore and set up my camp, i don't want to walk to far, i have a good 4wd ,so i prefer to drive as close as possible then walk in . any ideas ?

snowgum

A Local
Ski Pass
May 4, 1999
vic
If you promise not to tell anyone I can suggest Mt Pinnibar ~ 60 km south of Corryong is a very driveable/skiable peak with great views of The main range (just across the Murray) and more distance Bogong.

However, while it usually gets a good snow cover in winter (@1770m), having just returned from Hotham, I think Ol' Pinnibar will be looking pretty patchy on anything except high-southern aspects. It may suit you in that you could almost 4WD up the northern spur to the summit.

For practicality, I tend to agree with Carve Man: go Hotham /Falls until the snow has disappeared. Or take an extra couple of days and head up the Thredbo chair or head out from Charlotte Pass. ( even into November!)

Reactions: Belly

chriscross

One of Us
Ski Pass
Jul 1, 2005
The Foothills
Looks like BB just got a few cm this week, but it won't hold until Oct ( IMO).Mt. Erica is a very nice hike, with an old fireplace near a camp site not far from a good water supply just beyond the summit. Well worth a visit. Feathertop is quite a drive but could be worthwhile.

Snow Blowey

Old n' Crusty
Ski Pass
Jan 7, 2004
Dubbo NSW
If you promise not to tell anyone I can suggest Mt Pinnibar ~ 60 km south of Corryong is a very driveable/skiable peak with great views of The main range (just across the Murray) and more distance Bogong.