Where to work?

Discussion in 'Snow Talk' started by Lena Papadakis, Mar 10, 2018.

1. Lena Papadakis

Lena Papadakis First Runs

Hi,

I'm currently a ski instructor here in the USA looking to spend my summer skiing either in NZ or Australia and the two resorts which have shown the most interest and have offered interviews are Cardrona in NZ and Thredbo in Australia. Because of an injury, I was unable to get PSIA certification earlier this season (I'm currently awaiting the last round of testing in April), so I applied for positions in snowsports but as a kids club assistant, so helping instructors on the slopes and then caring for the children in the program etc. I love kids, so I am quite happy to pursue this avenue as I will still be able to incorporate teaching into the role and aim to get NZSIA or APSI qualifications while there, either 1 or 2 depending on if I can get PSIA 1 in April. But I was wondering if anyone had any thoughts towards which might be the better mountain? I'm leaning towards Cardrona as part of their NZSIA training is you work as a part-time instructor the days you aren't in the kids club, so not only is that more work and thus money, but also more teaching experience, which I would very much like to have more of, not to mention NZ is known for its amazing skiing. As someone from the US, I've heard far less about skiing in Australia and applied to Thredbo on a whim, but within hours of applying they offered me an interview. Australian minimum wage (I'm assuming they all pay around min wage as skiing isn't known to pay much), however, is higher and would mean more profit. And while I'm not doing this to make a ton of money, I am international and a relatively steady income will be needed. I cannot seem to find if they offer instructor certification training, which is a deal breaker for me. I assume they do, but nothing is on the employee website.

So, any thoughts between the two?

2. DidSurfNowSki

DidSurfNowSki One of them