1. There's more to this forum than meets the eye!

We have a vibrant community here conversing about all sorts of non-snow topics such as music, sport, politics and technology. Simply register to reveal all our Après topics or continue browsing and reading as a guest.

NOTE: This notice may be closed.

Dismiss Notice

Advice needed XC gear reccomendation for not you avg skiers

Discussion in 'Equipment' started by spaceyoo, Jan 11, 2019.

1. spaceyoo

spaceyoo First Runs

Hi All
    looking to buy our fist set of xc skis (total beginners) and we're a bit confused - it's cerainly a whole world out there. Also our starting point is a bit "unusual"
    Hubby is 183cm and I'm 170, both sit around 100kg - not atheltic (a.k.a fat), especially me!
    BUT - this has so far not stopped us from hiking and kayaking and last year for the first time we tried to XC Ski (at Dinner Plain) and LOOOVED it.
    We would like to start doing this on a regular basis and since XC gear is not as expensive just get our own kit to suit us.

We intend to ski around the trails at Mt.Stirling or Dinner Plain, and need ski's that will give us confidence, allow us to figure out what we like, and just enjoy an active (yet not particularly adrenaline packed) time in the snow - maybe even some off-trail down the track?
    Hubby will be travelling to the US soon, so we're looking for advice on potential models to snap up a bargain - or a guideline to length, profile and style (I understand we're better off with slightly wider, metal edged skis) .
    Also - bindings! I will be buying shoes in Melbourne (don't want to buy without fitting) and so might be hubby so something simple like what we had on the rental gear (snaps in and out, worked fine). Are those the NNN ones?
    Sorry about being clueless :)
    Cheers

2. Telemark Phat

Telemark Phat Pass the butter Ski Pass: Gold